Listening to the experts: How to involve networks in children’s services work

Involving Networks

Friday 5 March 2021

Facebook Live

2 pm UTC+0

Signs of Safety Children’s Services Support Group
Facebook Live Session

To engage in the Facebook Live session, you need to be a member of the Signs of Safety Children’s Services Support Group. The private group is for anyone working with, or involved in the Children’s Services sector and is open to all child protection workers or partner agencies from around the world.

Childrens Services Support Group Banner

We all know the saying ‘it takes a village to raise a child’. However, in children’s services involving naturally occurring networks throughout the life of child protection and children in care cases is always challenging even though most workers would love to get the people the children belong to more involved.

Around the world children’s services workers often ask when and how do we involve the grandparents, the neighbours, the aunts, uncles, teachers, the GP, and people from the communities, organisations and clubs the family is involved with? 

The experts on how to involve networks are the practitioners who are doing it in their everyday practice. In this Facebook Live on Friday 5th March Andrew Turnell will hold a conversation with a small group of practitioners from different countries to hear from them how they involve networks in their practice with children and families and how this is making a difference. 

COVID-19 has reshaped all our lives in the past year and has brought massive challenges across all areas of practice. At the same time, the challenge of COVID-19 has led practitioners to try new things including drawing more upon people with natural connections to the children in ways they previously wouldn’t have done. Given we are in the grips of the third (and hopefully last major) wave of the pandemic it is all the more important to hear the experience and successes of frontline practitioners. 

If you or one of your colleagues have experiences and stories of involving networks — particularly since the pandemic — that you think should be shared and would like to be involved in the conversation with Andrew please get in touch via Facebook Messenger on the Signs of Safety page as we are keen to hear from you.

Keep in mind that to view and engage in the session, you need to be a member of the Signs of Safety Childrens Services Support Group on Facebook. The private group is for anyone working with, or involved in the Children’s Services sector and is open to all child protection workers or partner agencies from around the world. Entry to the group is granted once three simple entry questions have been completed, so don’t leave it until the last minute!

Friday 10pm UTC+8 (Perth) | Saturday 1am UTC+11 (Sydney) | Friday 2pm UTC+0 (London) | Friday 7am UTC-7 (Calgary) | Friday 3pm UTC+1 (Stockholm) | Friday 11pm UTC+9 (Tokyo) | Friday 9am UTC-5 (New York)

Need another time zone? Here’s an online converter.

Signs of Safety Children’s Services Support Group

To view and engage in the Facebook Live Q&A session, you need to be a member of the Children’s Services Support Group on Facebook. The private group is for anyone working with, or involved in the Children’s Services sector and is open to all child protection workers or partner agencies from around the world. Entry to the group is granted once three simple entry questions have been completed.