Senior Management Overview on Safety Planning

Senior Management Overview

Friday 25 September 2020

Facebook Live Webinar

1pm UTC+0

Signs of Safety Child Protection Leadership Support Forum
Facebook Live Webinar

To engage in the session, you need to be a member of the Signs of Safety Child Protection Leadership Support Forum. The private group is for executives, directors and senior leaders in the Children’s Services sector.

Signs of Safety Child Protection Leaders Support Forum

The Signs of Safety Child Protection Leadership Support Forum will be hosting an interactive Facebook Live webinar, ‘Senior Management Overview on Safety Planning’ on Friday 25th September from 1.00pm (UTC+0).

How safe is the safety planning in your organisation? Good outcomes for children depend on good safety plans. Workers are vulnerable too, if their safety planning is weak.

This Facebook Live session with Joke Wiggerink and Terry Murphy — both former CEO’s of child welfare organisations — will examine what we need to do as senior managers and leaders to know that our safety planning is as good as it needs to be.

One of the most challenging parts of the work as a senior manager or leader is the overview of safety plans of children returning home from care and children staying at home after a referral of child abuse.

How do you, as a senior manager, know if children have a safety plan and what the quality of that safety plan is? Has the safety plan been made by the family and network with support of the social worker and other professionals? Or is the plan a set of rules that we’ve set and simply called a safety plan?

Safety planning is the hardest part of our work. When we don’t get it right, the consequences for the child(ren), family and social workers can be devastating.

  • We know safety planning is difficult and it is the area in which people can potentially make the most errors. This can lead to anxiety, especially around high risk cases
  • This discussion will jump start your thinking around the struggles of safety planning, but also help you think through the roles and responsibilities of your leaders and expand your oversight in your teams’ work to enable you to lead them more effectively
  • We will also discuss ways to help you build collective responsibility to handle the most complex and difficult cases
  • Terry and Joke will touch on how the Signs of Safety Implementation Framework can help you think through the roles and responsibilities of all leadership at all levels within child protection organisations
  • They will talk from their own experiences of struggles and successes from their time leading a international child protection organisation
  • There will be opportunities for questions, so please bring them and post them through the Child Protection Leadership Support Forum on Facebook

Keep in mind that to view and engage in the session, you need to be a member of the Signs of Safety Child Protection Leadership Support Forum on Facebook. The private group is for executives, directors and senior leaders in the Children’s Services sector. Entry to the group is granted once two simple entry questions have been completed.

Friday 1pm UTC+0 | Friday 9pm UTC+8 (Perth) | Friday 3pm UTC+2 (Stockholm) | Friday 2pm UTC+1 (UK) | Friday 9am UTC-4 (Toronto) | Friday 6am UTC-7 (Los Angeles)

Need another time zone? Here’s an online converter.

Signs of Safety Child Protection Leaders’ Support Forum

To view and engage in the Facebook Live session, you need to be a member of the Signs of Safety Child Protection Leaders Support Forum on Facebook. The private group is for executives, directors and senior leaders in the Children’s Services sector. Entry to the group is granted once two simple entry questions have been completed.