The voice of the child in the safety planning process

Voice of the Child

Monday 14 June 2021

Facebook Live

1 pm UTC+0

Signs of Safety Children’s Services Support Group
Facebook Live Q&A Session

To engage in the Q&A session, you need to be a member of the Signs of Safety Children’s Services Support Group. The private group is for anyone working with, or involved in the Children’s Services sector and is open to all child protection workers or partner agencies from around the world.

Childrens Services Support Group Banner

The Signs of Safety Children’s Services Support Group will be hosting another interactive and intimate Facebook Live Q&A session, ‘The voice of the child in the safety planning process’ on Monday 14th June from 1.00pm (+0 UTC).

The voice of the child is such a common phrase used in children’s services. But what does that really mean? And more critically, how do we bring the voice of the child — this particular child we are working with in this particular unique family — and context into the work and specifically into the safety planning process? It’s hard work, and we need to talk about it, the success and the struggles.

The event will again be facilitated by Andrew Turnell (co-creator of Signs of Safety) and Pene Turnell (Executive Director of Practice for Elia). This time, the focus for the Q&A will be the voice of the child in the safety planning process and you have the opportunity to ask your biggest questions. Please do send in your questions for Andrew and Pene here to help them get started, and they will also take questions live on Facebook as time permits. Pene and Andrew will also be joined by Agi Gault, Signs and Safety Trainer and Consultant and author of The Third Space.

Make sure any questions you submit for the session are anonymised and do not contain any identifying information. We encourage you to engage in the conversation online in this safe environment. Our hope is that the discussions will give you ideas for your day-to-day practice. So join Andrew and Pene in the FB Live as they think through your questions.

Please note that Andrew and Pene’s ideas will be their best thinking about the question asked, and should not be considered to be specific guidance about what should be done in the case itself.

Keep in mind that to view and engage in the session, you need to be a member of the Signs of Safety Childrens Services Support Group on Facebook. The private group is for anyone working with, or involved in the Children’s Services sector and is open to all child protection workers or partner agencies from around the world. Entry to the group is granted once three simple entry questions have been completed, so don’t leave it until the last minute!

More details about upcoming sessions will be posted here on the Signs of Safety website and on our social media outlets.

Monday 9pm UTC+8 (Perth) | Monday 11pm UTC+10 (Sydney) | Monday 2pm UTC+1 (London) | Monday 7am UTC-6 (Calgary) | Monday 3pm UTC+2 (Stockholm) | Monday 10pm UTC+9 (Tokyo) | Monday 9am UTC-4 (New York)

Need another time zone? Here’s an online converter.

Signs of Safety Children’s Services Support Group

To view and engage in the Facebook Live Q&A session, you need to be a member of the Children’s Services Support Group on Facebook. The private group is for anyone working with, or involved in the Children’s Services sector and is open to all child protection workers or partner agencies from around the world. Entry to the group is granted once three simple entry questions have been completed.